Driving while license invalid Bastrop County TX

Driving while license invalid Bastrop County TX can lead to a suspension of your driver’s license. We recommend you contact Attorney Kelly E. McMahan at (512) 919-4273 if you have been charged with driving with an invalid license. Being able to drive on Texas roads is not a right; it is a privilege. You will be subject to additional driver’s license suspension for the same period of time as originally suspended, if you drive while your Texas license is revoked, denied, suspended, or cancelled. In addition, you could be charged with a misdemeanor and face negative consequences.

Driving While License is Invalid (DWLI)

It is possible that you could be charged with a Class C misdemeanor as a result of a conviction of driving while license invalid Bastrop County TX, or with more serious charges, in certain circumstances. In general, the maximum fine for a Class C misdemeanor is $500.

The following are circumstances in which you may be charged with a Class B misdemeanor when driving with an invalid license:

  • You did not have automobile insurance at the time of the offense;
  • You were previously convicted of driving while your license was revoked or suspended; or
  • Your driver’s license was suspended for driving an automobile while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) or driving a boat while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (BUI).

The following are maximum potential penalties for a Class B misdemeanor related to driving while license invalid Bastrop County TX:

  • Serving 180 days in jail; and
  • Paying a $2,000 fine.

The most serious criminal violation for driving while license invalid Bastrop County TX is a Class A misdemeanor, which you could be charged with in certain circumstances. As an example, if you caused a crash that killed or seriously injured someone and you did not have automobile insurance, you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. The following are maximum potential penalties for a Class A misdemeanor related driving while license is invalid (DWLI):

  • One year in jail; and
  • A total fine of $4,000.

Legal Assistance

We recommend contacting us for a simple moving violation citation, and it is much more important to take advantage of legal assistance if you have received a citation for driving while license invalid Bastrop County TX.

The consequence of DWLI can be very serious. Contact us today, if you are facing a charge of driving while license invalid Bastrop County TX.