Habitual violator drivers license Williamson County TX
Habitual violator drivers license Williamson County TX? Contact Kelly E. McMahan, attorney at law, if you have been charged with a traffic violation that categorizes you as a habitual traffic offender (HTO). Your driver’s license will be suspended if you are found guilty of four traffic violations within 12 months or seven traffic violations within 24 months. Kelly McMahan specializes in helping drivers charged with habitual violator drivers license Williamson County TX.
Point System in Texas
Traffic violations are serious business in Texas. In addition to penalties associated with all charges, including being a habitual traffic offender, you can be subject to additional fees if you have 6 points on your license within a year. The point system is part of a driver responsibility program (DRP). The point system is what is used to determine whether a driver falls under the DRP and will be responsible for additional fees.
The point system works as follows:
- If you have a single moving violation, 2 points go on your driving record.
- If you are involved in a single moving violation that ends in an accident, 3 points go on your driving record.
If you are charged with habitual violator drivers license Williamson County TX, you definitely have the minimum 6 points that result in further penalties.
Cost of Point System
The charge under DPR for 6 points on your license is $100. For each additional point over 6, you will be responsible to pay an additional $25. The points for each violation are in effect on your license for three years, which means that if you have 6 or more, you can expect additional fees for three years running. If a driver meets all other requirements associated with traffic violations and then fails to pay fees assessed under the point system, that driver is subject to losing his or her driving privileges.
Special Needs License
If you have your driver’s license revoked because of being found guilty of being a habitual violator drivers license Williamson County TX, in some instances, you will be eligible for a special needs license, also called an occupational license. An occupational license authorizes a person with a suspended license to drive to work, to school, or to perform essential household duties. If you lost your driving privileges because of failure to pay child support, however, you are not eligible for an occupational license.