Reinstating a suspended license in Williamson County Texas
Reinstating a suspended license in Williamson County Texas may be achieved more quickly and with less hassle and anxiety when you have the assistance of an experienced attorney. Kelly E. McMahan fights to keep people in Central Texas just like you on the road. Even before you are eligible for reinstating a suspended license in Williamson County Texas, you may be eligible for an occupational license.
What is an Occupational License?
Also called an “essential need license,” an occupational license is a special restricted license issued exclusively to individuals who have had their driver’s license suspended, canceled, denied, or revoked for various reasons other than failure to pay child support or medical reasons.
Even without the benefit of reinstating a suspended license in Williamson County Texas, an occupational driver’s license can authorize the operation of a non-commercial motor vehicle in connection with a person’s:
- Activities related to school; or
- Performance of essential household responsibilities.
Occupational License Request
One of the essential benefits of hiring Attorney Kelly McMahan for all traffic citations and matters such as reinstating a suspended license in Williamson County Texas is her experience. She knows all of the state laws associated with driving and can ensure that you don’t miss any important deadlines associated with improving your situation.
To obtain an occupational license, for example, a request must be made to a county or district court or to a Justice of the Peace in the court of the original jurisdiction where the offense occurred or where you live. The court determines an individual’s eligibility to apply for the special need license and then a court order is issued. The court order is not the license, however. The court order authorizes the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to issue the special needs license to a person not yet in the position of reinstating a suspended license in Williamson County Texas.
Issuance of a Special Needs License
Before an occupational license will be submitted to an individual whose license has been revoked or suspended, the court order and all required items must be submitted to DPS. For 30 days, however, the court order can be used as a driver’s license, and the 30 days begins on the day the judge signs the order.
All costs and hassles associated with loss of driving privileges can potentially be lessened by seeking legal assistance with regard to reinstating a suspended license in Williamson County Texas.