Have you been looking for an Austin DWI Attorney? If so, then it’d be in your best interest to check out the services that Kelly McMahan Law has to offer. Our Austin Texas law firm has the experience necessary to provide the best legal advice to people who have gone through a DWI arrest. The attorneys at our law offices are fully capable of handling all types of DWI cases in Austin, TX. Additionally, the Austin DWI lawyers here at Kelly McMahan Law are the best for cases such as driving under the influence (DUI) or for personal injury cases.
Our aim is to help as many clients with all of their traffic warrants. There are many people who have old tickets that have not been resolved. People generally forget about these citations and will not address them in a timely fashion. In some cases, these traffic citations will come to cause a person’s license to become invalid. Additionally, there are also other types of consequences that can be caused by old traffic citations. So if you are currently trying to resolve your traffic citations, make sure you do the right thing and call an experienced Austin Ticket Lawyer such as Kelly McMahan.
DWI General Overview
In the state of Texas, someone is hurt or killed by an alcohol-related accident every 20 minutes. Therefore, it is important to take the time to be responsible when it comes to your actions before getting behind the wheel. If you want to avoid preventable pain and costs, then simply don’t drink and drive.
The impairment will start as soon as you drink your first drink. Your ability to handle alcohol depends on a number of factors. Things such as gender, body weight, how much you’ve eaten, and the number of drinks will all determine how impaired you become. Typically, two or three beers in an hour will make people legally intoxicated. Younger people, women, and smaller-sized people will have less tolerance for alcohol.
In Texas, a person is deemed to be legally intoxicated with a .08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration). Additionally, a person can be intoxicated if impaired by alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Regardless if you’re the driver or passenger, there can be a fine of up to 500 dollars for an open alcohol container in the vehicle.
DWI with a Child Passenger
Driving while influenced with a child passenger can end up costing you more than you think. Drivers can be charged with child endangerment for driving while intoxicated if the passengers are younger than 15 years old. DWI with a passenger under the age of 15 years can be punished by:
- A maximum fine of $10,000
- Maximum two years in a state jail
- Losing your driver’s license for 180 days
If you are ever pulled over, make sure you are ready to show your license, proof of insurance, and vehicle registration. For those who wish to refuse a blood or breath test, their license will be automatically suspended for 180 days. The punishments for DWI vary depending on the number of times a person is convicted.
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Three to 180 days in jail
- The loss of your license for up to a year
- A yearly fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to keep your driver’s license
- Up to $4,000 in fines
- One month to a year in jail
- The loss of license for up to two years
- An annual fee of either $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years in order to retain your license
- $10,000 in fines
- Two to ten years in prison
- Loss of your driver’s license for up to two years
- An annual fee of either $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to maintain your license validly
Keep in mind that if there are two or more DWI convictions in five years, the driver must install a special ignition switch that will prevent you from driving if you’ve been drinking. Here are some reasonable things to do in order to avoid any unnecessary troubles with the law:
- Don’t drink and drive
- Have a designated driver
- Call a cab if you plan on drinking
- If possible, spend the night where you are
Occupational Drivers License
If you happen to have your license suspended, you might think that you’re in big trouble when it comes to your job or school. Well, we’re here to tell you that you can still find a way to drive to work or to school. An occupational driver’s license, or essential needs licenses, can help people get to work, around your property, or any other time that you must operate special vehicles and equipment. Eligibility or an occupational driver’s license is a necessity for daily life.
Furthermore, even those who are ineligible for a regular license can still obtain an occupational license. If you are new to Texas, you’ll need to apply for a State-Issued license. If you want to maintain your hours at work or make progress on your personal projects, then you should navigate the licensing process as soon as possible. Call Kelly McMahan Law today to learn why we are a leading law firm in the state of Texas.
Committed to Excellence
One thing that we are very proud to withhold is our commitment to excellence. We take pride in doing our job to the best of our abilities. As a result, you’ll find that we are the hardest working law firm around. Thanks to our work ethic, we have earned a high rate of customer satisfaction and high praise within our client base. Additionally, we are always trying to find ways to improve our firm in as many ways as possible. So you can rest easy knowing that your traffic case will be handled by the most qualified law firm around. We’ll work hard to find the best resolution for your particular traffic case. Contact us today to learn how you can be back on the road in no time.
Contact Us Today
If you are in need of expert traffic attorneys, then you should contact the firm of Kelly McMahan as soon as possible. You can contact us by calling (512) 843-2889. Furthermore, you can learn more about our Austin DWI Attorney by clicking here.
Austin Fun Facts
- The city of Austin is home to nearly 2,000 food trucks and over 250 music venues
- Austin is the largest state capital in the nation
- Austin was named the best place to live in 2017 by the U.S. News and World Report
- Learn more here